1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Very tiny coturnix chick

Discussion in 'Quail' started by eliseswart, Aug 11, 2014.

1. eliseswart

eliseswart Out Of The Brooder

Mar 25, 2013
    France
    Hello everybody,

I have something curious, I have 23 one week old quail chicks who are doing fine, they eat, drink, sleep and grow, but one of them is a very tiny chick, who does all those things too but grow. He is now 30% in size of the others, but he does not seem unhealthy of ill, he just does not grow. They all started more or less at the same size and they are now changing very quickly. The midget however still has his fluffy baby feathers.

I never saw a thing like this and wondered if this is very extraordinairy. I have no experience with quails whatsoever. I don't know if he will live very long, although he is very cute. He acts normally as I said, sleeps with his big sisters and brothers, eats, scratches, all normal things.

Has anyone ever had such a chick?

2. browning6

browning6 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 2, 2012
    Winton, California
    I have had chicks do this. My experience has been that they are just slow developers. However, my mortality rate with the slow growing chicks is super high. within the first couple months i bet i loose at least 50% of them. Some of mine caught up and others are always small.

But i hope he makes it.

3. eliseswart

Mar 25, 2013
    France
    Thanks, I thought perhaps it is a new bantam quail mutation or something, but we'll see if he'll be alright. If not, we cannot change anything, unfortunately or for the better maybe. He's developing his new feathers, so there is some movement.

I put him in a box with another normal one to show the difference:
    [​IMG]

4. Brohnson

Brohnson Out Of The Brooder

Jul 15, 2014