Was Not Ready!

cj6891

Hatching
5 Years
Jun 25, 2014
I set 49 Coturnix eggs that were supposed to hatch Thursday. I went down this afternoon to check the humidity and Boom 28 had already hatched today. I was not ready as I was going to get stuff (marbles for waterer, shelving material,etc) tomorrow. So I have moved them into a plastic tote, lined it with paper towels and turned on the heat lamp. They have food and water so we'll see if they make it through tonight. At least one more is trying to hatch out now.

BTW, hello everyone and nice to meet you. These are eggs that I gathered from my adults that I have. This is my first time trying to hatch any. Hope the rest goes well.

Thats what i did. And all 7 lived. Been 6 days and the largest is already getting a bunch of beginner feathers
wee.gif

I set 49 Coturnix eggs that were supposed to hatch Thursday. I went down this afternoon to check the humidity and Boom 28 had already hatched today. I was not ready as I was going to get stuff (marbles for waterer, shelving material,etc) tomorrow. So I have moved them into a plastic tote, lined it with paper towels and turned on the heat lamp. They have food and water so we'll see if they make it through tonight. At least one more is trying to hatch out now.

BTW, hello everyone and nice to meet you. These are eggs that I gathered from my adults that I have. This is my first time trying to hatch any. Hope the rest goes well.

Welcome!
frow.gif

What day were the eggs on? That can be quite a surprise if you're not expecting chicks! They are usually chirping loudly so that is a good clue that you got babies.
highfive.gif

They hatched at day 16. I have had six more hatch out since my original post. I checked when I came home today and they had hatched out while I was at work. BTW, yes they are loud. I had forgotten just how much so :)