What color is this girl?

PittyLova

Songster
Dec 29, 2017
Northern, NH
I just picked up 3 new turkeys as friends for our BBB girl. One chocolate tom (yay sex linking), a silver tipped black girl, and this one. I'm new to turkeys other than our BBB and can't decide what color this is. I was hoping to get some help!

Attachments

• FB_IMG_1546378578182.jpg
    FB_IMG_1546378578182.jpg
    38.9 KB · Views: 30
Thanks! I'm quite fond of her! I wanted different colors to add some interest. And luckily the 2 girls we got seemed to be the friendliest of the bunch.

I thought she was sweetgrass at first, but I'm not so sure now.

I just picked up 3 new turkeys as friends for our BBB girl. One chocolate tom (yay sex linking), a silver tipped black girl, and this one. I'm new to turkeys other than our BBB and can't decide what color this is. I was hoping to get some help!
It is either a Sweetgrass or a Calico. Sweetgrass will breed true but Calico's won't because they have a single red (r) gene. Sweetgrass come in a variety of shades with some being darker and some having more white but they are still all Sweetgrass.

It is either a Sweetgrass or a Calico. Sweetgrass will breed true but Calico's won't because they have a single red (r) gene. Sweetgrass come in a variety of shades with some being darker and some having more white but they are still all Sweetgrass.
Thank you! That's what I was thinking, one or the other. They had a big mix of turkeys all together so either is possible. I want sure if sweetgrass and calico could be told apart just by looks. I only have a chocolate tom right now so I may never know unless I add another boy. Not sure that's wise with only 3 hens ‍♀️

I plan on eating most of the offspring so it doesnt matter if they're mixed to me. We just like the pretty colors.