What do you recommend?

Whenever you cook burgers, bacon, whatever - put some oatmeal in the greasy pan when you're done. It will soak up all the grease AND become a chicken favorite. They know full well when I'm carrying the oatmeal bowl out to the run. And don't buy premade flock blocks - everyone and their sister has a recipe on line.

Hey there! I’m new to owning chickens. I have 3 Rhode Island Red chicks, and 3 Barnevelder chicks. I’m going to turn an old wooden play house into the chicken coop. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Since it’s my first time having chickens, any suggestions will help. I am going to cut a hole in the wall under the window leading to the run, I am going to add sand to the floor, nesting boxes on the bunks, and a roost somewhere. What else would I need?

Any suggestions for the run as well? I have about 4 feet by 14 feet of space for the run. What should I make it out of? I heard chicken wire was good. I’m trying to go cheep as possible, but safe and functional.

I also want to get Brahmas later, so would that impact how big I need the chicken door to be? How big should a regular chicken door be?
Please use hardware cloth. It may cost a little more, but your chickens will be safe. No worries!

I have a converted playhouse coop and a big covered run. My hens are locked in the coop at night and I have hardware cloth over the windows (it has three windows).
That is an expense I would not skimp on. I also put plexiglass storms on the windows in the winter. The hens appreciate it.