What do you recommend?

Oct 11, 2023
Arizona
Hey there! I’m new to owning chickens. I have 3 Rhode Island Red chicks, and 3 Barnevelder chicks. I’m going to turn an old wooden play house into the chicken coop. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Since it’s my first time having chickens, any suggestions will help. I am going to cut a hole in the wall under the window leading to the run, I am going to add sand to the floor, nesting boxes on the bunks, and a roost somewhere. What else would I need?

Any suggestions for the run as well? I have about 4 feet by 14 feet of space for the run. What should I make it out of? I heard chicken wire was good. I’m trying to go cheep as possible, but safe and functional.

I also want to get Brahmas later, so would that impact how big I need the chicken door to be? How big should a regular chicken door be?

Attachments

• D61078F2-7028-40D8-ADC9-E167E2AE9839.png
    D61078F2-7028-40D8-ADC9-E167E2AE9839.png
    1.6 MB · Views: 128
  • 88F4CA0F-2D30-4FB4-9273-EA4704437915.png
    88F4CA0F-2D30-4FB4-9273-EA4704437915.png
    1.8 MB · Views: 32
What is the square footage of the playhouse?
You should have 3.5-4 sq ft of floor space, not including the nest boxes, and 1 linear foot of roost space per bird in the coop. You should shoot for 15 sqft per bird in the run.
What else would I need?
Ventilation.
I have about 4 feet by 14 feet
You don't have enough space. Can you double this size?
I heard chicken wire was good.
You heard wrong.
Practically anything can tear through chicken wire. All it really does is keep chickens contained, but not protected. If you want them protected use 1/2" hardware cloth.

Last edited: