What type of material?

cabinonalake

In the Brooder
7 Years
Feb 6, 2012
I've ordered 10 pullets that will arive the week of May 21st, from mypetchicken.com. I have a chicken coop that is 6x4 with 3 nest boxes and a 50 lb auto. feeder. Our girls will also have a 16w'x20'lx6'h completely enclosed run (we live in the woods by a lake and have just about every predator you can imagine in our front yard, eagles, fishers, coyotes ect). The run will have 1 foot of hardwire cloth buried underground, my question is can i make the framing of the run with un-treated 2x4's? I've never built anything before and as my darling boyfriend says "this is your thing, I am the lacky, you say the commands and I get it done" I've been reasearching for a while now but the exictement has me confused lol. Do I need the round pole/log things for the run or will the 2x4s be okay???? thank you in advance for all of your help!

If the wood is coming into contact with the moist ground, it should be treated in order to last longer.

If you only plan on keeping chickens for a short time, then you can go ahead and use the untreated wood.

I use treated 2x4's for my run since the larger logs seem to be overkill.

But if you have an overabundance of logs, USE 'EM!

smile.png

If the ground is moist, the untreated logs will not last very long at all. Between moisture and insects it will be damaged in a year, two at the most. If money isn't a concern, you could lay landscaping bricks as a base and put wood above it. This would allow the wood to drain and dry out. You could also look at using cypress or redwood. (Not sure if they have any negative effects on chickens). Metal poles could be an option. If you're not concerned about looks, pvc pipe. Lots of options.

Also,
rant.gif
tell your man, "you don't want me to get mad if something goes wrong. So, your not giving me any advice. If something goes wrong and you didn't tell me something you knew wouldn't work, ILL BE SUPER MAD."