When to start giving probiotics to chicks after giving them Corid for Coccidia??

SMV913

Chirping
Nov 15, 2017
Hello!

I’m hoping I can get some help since this is my first time raising baby chicks.
We’ve now had our baby chicks almost 2 weeks (they were all roughly about 5 days old when we got them). After just a few days of having them, I noticed our little Barred Rock baby who was just a little over a week old was very lethargic, sleeping all day, could barely walk, was getting trampled over by the other chicks, barely eating, not drinking and literally knocking on deaths door. I was panicked! We had just surprised our kids with 6 baby chicks as an early Christmas present and I was not about to let one of them die! I did tons of research and actually this site and some of the forums are what helped me. Being new to raising chicks, I had no clue what could be wrong with her but I settled on the idea that it may be Coccidia. Of course this all was going on last week (Thanksgiving week) which made things much harder and stressful. The day after Thanksgiving I immediately drove to the nearest Tractor Supply and bought a bag of the Corid powder and treated the whole flock with this. I force fed our sick baby the Corid water for 48 hours and by the 3rd day she was showing some improvement! It has now been almost exactly a week and she seems to have made a full recovery!!! I am so thrilled that I was able to save her (for the time being at least) and all seem to be doing well! All 6 seem happy and healthy thank goodness! I have noticed a little blood in some of their stools still so I’m keeping an eye on that so I do know it spread to the others but they are all acting normal and eating, drinking and being very active. Also, they were all on Medicated feed since the day we brought them home and continued with the medicated feed even during the Corid water treatment.