When to throw in the towel? Help Needed.

Hoosierchickens

Songster
9 Years
Jan 9, 2011
Cloverdale, IN
This is my first attempt at incubating. My eggs went on lockdown last Monday and they all looked good as far as I could tell with air cells and dark and veining. Day 21 started Thursday evening into Friday. It's now going into day 23 and no signs of hatching. I'm not even sure of any rocking. I'm curious how long I let them go before throwing in the towel. Are there any ways to tell if the eggs are still alive and if so at what point? Thanks for any advice.

I know the feeling. I have had 6 eggs due in the last 3 weeks but only 2 have hatch. I would candle them and see if you see any movement. But it does depend on the chick. I have a duck come 4 days early and a chick come 4 days late. It is very frustrating and the waiting is a killer, but you can candle them and see if you see any movement but I would say from what I have been told by a guy that hatches egg that lives about 3 blocks away from me, he said after 10 years of hatching he has seen some go as long as 8 days before hatching and some come as early as 6 days before their hatch date, and all lived and were healthy. Hatching is almost as nerve racking as being pregnant and waiting past your due date.