white feather in black bird - disqualification question

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by TinyBirds, Aug 27, 2010.

1. TinyBirds

TinyBirds Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 9, 2009
    Texas
    I have been hatching eggs over the past year from BYC members and also raising chicks from breeders I contacted directly from breeder-lists at the breeder club websites. I haven't yet been to any shows though, so my question is this.... (and please be nice to me - I'm new to the breeder-scene and just wanting to learn from the pros!)

A few of my black birds that are around 3 months old, have a white feather-tip in the wings. Should I remove those from my list of possible breeders? I purchased 75+ chicks of this particular breed, so I can afford to be picky and assume I should remove them. But.... if they happen to be quite large and healthy (things I personally like to select for with any dual-purpose chicken), what should I do? Should I wait until after the first molt to see if the white disappears? Or just take them out of the breeding pen right now?

ETA: I didn't post the breed name here because I'd like to gather responses from various people who raise black-color birds (regardless of the specific breed - since I assume the white feather-tip situation could show up in any black color chicken).

Thanks so much!
    Jenny

2. muddyhorse

muddyhorse Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 11, 2009
    Bloomsdale, MO
    they will probably molt out before they hit 6 months. If they are laying and have the white feather then cull them. right now I wouldn't worry about it [​IMG][​IMG]

3. NYREDS

NYREDS Overrun With Chickens

Jan 14, 2008
    Quote:Exactly. They are still in their juvenile plumage. It's not at all uncommon for black birds to show some white at this point in their development.

4. Buck Creek Chickens

Buck Creek Chickens Have Incubator, Will Hatch

Nov 26, 2008
    Neenah, WI