Will momma reject a chic because of color?

Murs

In the Brooder
8 Years
Oct 23, 2011
North SD County
This is my first time letting a broody hen hatch. It's the hens first time too. I didn't have a rooster so I got four fertilized eggs locally. All four hatched today.

Three were golden and one was black. When I went out to check on them the black one was not under momma. And I noticed some wounds on the chic. I watched for a while and momma did not seem aggressive towards the chic but did not make any move to protect it.
I picked it up and brought it inside and it died soon after.

Was it rejected because it was the only black one?

Every chicken is an individual. And some hens WILL reject a chick, if it is a different color than the rest. I had a White Silkie hen years ago, who would have killed a Black Silkie chick she hatched with her White ones, if I had not been there to rescue it. I raised it, first in a shoebox with a mirror, light over, for 95 degree temp (checked with a thermometer and temp dropped about 5 degrees. weekly,) and when the hen weaned her white chicks, I was able to put the Black one with the others--they did not mind--but that was just LUCKY. Sorry you lost the one--other hens might have been accepting....

I've had hens raise different colored chicks with no problems, but that doesn't mean it's not possible. I did have two hens that hatched clutches just days apart in the same coop, and the more dominant hen took a dislike to a specific chick of the beta hen's. She was aggressive enough to that particular chick the momma started being aggressive to it, also. I separated the hens and the beta momma took the chick back. The chick turned out to be a pullet, was a year old and laying well when I sold her last spring, so it's not like there was something wrong with it the alpha hen sensed. She just didn't like that one chick. Never cared a thing about the rest of the other hen's chicks.....