1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Orpington

Average User Rating:
4.4127/5,
  • Breed Purpose:
    Dual Purpose
    Comb:
    Single
    Broodiness:
    Frequent
    Climate Tolerance:
    All Climates
    Egg Productivity:
    Medium
    Egg Size:
    Large
    Egg Color:
    Light Brown
    Breed Temperament:
    Friendly,Easily handled,Calm,Bears confinement well,Quiet,Docile
    Breed Colors/Varieties:
    USA APA: Buff, Black, White, BlueSplash in not recognized at this time.Also there are a few other colors of Orpington Projects under way in the USA as of today.
    Breed Size:
    Large Fowl
    APA/ABA Class:
    English
    The original Orpington, the Black, was developed in England in 1886 and brought to the US in 1890. It was developed from Langshan-Rock-Minorca crosses. Today Buff, Black, White, and Blue Orpington's are recognized color varieties.
  • 445e4a46_Spanglehen02-21-15011.jpeg 4391eab2_IMG_0009.jpeg bc4d6914_2012-05-08_19-56-48_923.jpeg c54563d8_theflock.jpeg 323b3fea_LavenderOrpingtonChicksMay2012.jpeg 8e4dec60_0518121251_01.jpeg 0eb1afc8_DSCF1601.jpeg bf3b8030_IMG_2057.jpeg a162802c_IMG_2799.jpeg 38b1a59e_IMG_8905.jpeg 578b09d0_DSC02546.jpeg a51a8527_IMG_5976.jpeg fdf422b8_broody.jpeg 733ae3f2_Spanglebabies11-30-12019.jpeg 85b71b09_photo1.PNG b4a08f58_567112_10200408459190948_275870316_o.jpeg 308cc963_900x600px-LL-e69b2074_IMG_6870.jpeg 8cc7d9ee_3-001.jpeg 065ba06c_DSC01493.jpeg 5da6a553_20130421_100345-1.jpeg 55b9409f_20130421_100408-1.jpeg a3c66d60_chickenhead.jpeg c3974413_251.jpeg 17623934_100_1129.jpeg 5bd149b4_100_1039.jpeg d3b90d54_1368816545373.jpeg b5af9d39_image.jpeg b4d5ef5e_IMG_8688.jpeg 114d1daa_IMG_8703.jpeg 063ebc3d_IMG_0986.jpeg 5a38d183_14016271977_f029dd0690_b.jpeg 37b16565_IMG_7420.jpeg b69982d0_07-25-14chocolates047.jpeg 8abf7a74_photo5.jpeg 1864be50_IMG_3758.jpeg 3d8f052d_ChickenPic5.jpeg 1b91acc5_NewImage8.jpeg 08c01aaa_10428041_864284513611943_8245961870384098264_n.jpeg fbb95120_Chickens10-25-11038.jpeg 44d39670_07-25-14chocolates047.jpeg 63214432_100_8039.jpeg bb567c4f_10-16-14chickens056.jpeg 025e5522_download8.jpeg 39d766eb_Spangles-Partridges03-10-13025.jpeg 4af0cade_image.jpeg 5203d3fe_image.jpeg 4da4fbb3_chicks07-02-11Penny025.jpeg 370f65b8_Chickens10-25-11041.jpeg 75934c49_Orpington.jpeg 0b0ea933_20140605_081654.jpeg b9b14cfe_0407151903.jpeg e3d644f2_PIC_1024.jpeg 3d6e4d6d_PIC_1046.jpeg 1494352d_PIC_0889.jpeg 4db60498_PIC_0890.jpeg 132e63c2_PIC_0022.jpeg 49d42882_IMG_1294.jpeg bbee3a71_IMG_0942.jpeg d279c390_IMG_0639.jpeg a49123d4_IMG_2010.jpeg 657b653a_IMG_2454.jpeg 0c198382_IMG_0080.jpeg d5677a55_chicks07-02-11Penny037.jpeg 10aa9b35_MoreSKIP04-04-15125.jpeg a88e11cd_3-16-15chickens-Silvers074.jpeg 38fd13f3_IMG_0027.jpeg 3d383c02_chicks07-02-11Penny025.jpeg d11aa688_Partridgerooster09-25-12053.jpeg c139bca1_10-16-14chickens017.jpeg 9a737ae1_2016-07-11--07-30-56.jpeg 40341eb6_2016-07-11--07-30-56.jpeg ba25fe1f_06-10-13EnglishBlackrooster0602016_07_2917_44_57UTC.jpeg c058603b_023.jpeg d07d0b08_LFChocolaterooster3-5-15004.jpeg
  • [​IMG]
    Jubilee Orpington Hen owned by Autumn Farm Orpingtons




    [​IMG]
    Pure English Spangle/Mottle Hen Owned by Autumn Farm Orpingtons
    [​IMG]
    English Spangle/Mottle chicks owned by Autumn Farm Orpingtons



    Chicken Breed Info:
    Breed Purpose:
    Dual Purpose
    Comb: Single
    Broodiness: Frequent
    Climate Tolerance: All Climates

    General Egg Info:
    Egg Productivity:
    Medium
    Egg Size: Large
    Egg Color: Light Brown

    Breed Temperament:
    Friendly,Easily handled,Calm,Bears confinement well,Quiet,Docile

    Breed Colors / Varieties:
    USA APA: Buff, Black, White, Blue Splash in not recognized at this time. Also there are a few other colors of Orpington Projects under way in the USA as of today. Visitwww.hinkjcpoultry.com
    Breed Details:
    Developed as a dual purpose breed, Orpington's make fair table fowl and are excellent winter layers of large brown eggs. They have very laid back personalities and make great family pets. The Buffs are especially good in this regard.

    [​IMG]

    Rooster
    [​IMG]

    Hen
    [​IMG]

    Egg
    [​IMG]

    Chick
    [​IMG]

    Adolescent
    [​IMG]
Egg - Static likes this.

Recent User Reviews

  1. Judy925
    5/5,
    "Cochin Crazy"
    Pros - Tweedy is a master fertilizer. She sent a snake packing one day. He hasn't been back since. She loves to see me even before I put on makeup. When I feed her, she feeds me.
    Cons - Tweedy helps me propagate my succulents with me. She is a master fertilizer. She sent a snake packing one day. He hasn't been back since. The rodents he used to eat are thinking of moving back in. My cholesterol shot up dramatically.
    I have nothing to add that is of scientific value. I can only give you the comical side of this breed's qualities. While I would love to share them with y'all, there are simply too many to list. Altho there is one that is my all-time favorite... I have a nosy neighbor who loves to talk trash about everyone (especially me for whatever reason). I recently found out she HATES chickens. She reported me to the police only to find the policeman she spoke to owns 20 chickens. Does life get better than this?

    I am giving this review because everyone should smile at least once a day.
  2. Fernie
    4/5,
    "A Favorite Breed"
    Pros - Friendly, calm, easily handled, gentle
    Cons - Tend to go broody
    This is one of our favorite breeds. They are the sweetest birds. Whenever we purchase new stock Orpingtons are one of the breeds we like to get.
    Purchase Price:
    1.00
  3. Leah567
    4/5,
    "Nice Chickens."
    Pros - Sweet birds.
    Cons - Bossy Bossy Bossy.
    I love buff orpingtons! Despite they can be a little bossy at times. They're good layers and are very sweet. One of my buff orpingtons I had was very bossy and picked on the others a lot. But was a very sweet bird! Buff orpingtons make a great addition to any flock. But if you have other chickens and decide to add on a buff orpington. They can get really bossy and pick on the others in your flock. But overall they are sweet and great birds to have!
    Overall:
    4.5

User Comments

To post comments, simply sign up and become a member!
  1. lifein1840
    As a good all around chicken, Orpingtons are hard to beat. I have always enjoyed them for their personalities as well as egg laying ability. I have had decent luck with them going broody and being great moms. All of my Orpingtons have been very gentle and calm....but one of the hens I have now is pretty aggressive with my big New Hampshire hen and one of my Australorps and will be leaving the flock soon.
  2. ClarendonChicks
    I found a local group of breeders via Facebook, so I would suggest you try that first. Then you could visit the farm and see the birds.
  3. ClarendonChicks
    I found a local group of breeders via Facebook, so I would suggest you try that first. Then you could visit the farm and see the birds.
  4. alleycatt1560
    Where would you recommend me buying some buffs? Either online or feed store. If online can I have some websites?
  5. alleycatt1560
    Where would you recommend me buying some buffs? Either online or feed store. If online can I have some websites?
  6. Peaky
    I so agree with you. I got my buff at 4 days old and they are as tame as can be. They are only 6 weeks now but I continue to interact with them daily, use my hand to feed them. By the way today was the first egg from my hens. Hurray! Let us know how your new chicks do
  7. Peaky
    I so agree with you. I got my buff at 4 days old and they are as tame as can be. They are only 6 weeks now but I continue to interact with them daily, use my hand to feed them. By the way today was the first egg from my hens. Hurray! Let us know how your new chicks do
  8. Ronnie2
    I love my buffs too, I just started feeding them out of my hand yesterday. I used a leather work glove, I tried it bare handed but they were to reluctant to do that, I will be feeding them out of hand everyday.
  9. Ronnie2
    I love my buffs too, I just started feeding them out of my hand yesterday. I used a leather work glove, I tried it bare handed but they were to reluctant to do that, I will be feeding them out of hand everyday.
  10. Diannastarr

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by