♡ Winter concern (NEWBIE) ♡

IrisJade

Chirping
Jul 24, 2023
this is my first time raising ducklings and it is currently the start of the year ! Happy new year to everyone. its getting cold and I'm in the UK and the temp is below 10 Celsius My 3 that hatched on the 18th of November are soon to go outside, they are currently 6 weeks old, once they are 8 weeks I'm told they can be outside? they have beautiful feathers everywhere, but a bit of fluff here and there and we have built a nice little outdoor house for them, that I will be putting thick straw in and they can explore outside their house too and I'm just looking on some advice, I'm constantly worried if they are going to be lost without me once permanently outside as they have very much imprinted on me still, Big Question is will they be too cold in their house, should they be always kept inside their little house? for now I have sometimes let them outside, but get worried they will get frostbite or something so I don't let them out for too long.