10.5 Week old Black Orpington - Male or Female?

OakR

Chirping
Sep 27, 2023
London, UK
Hello

I have a 10.5 week old Black Orpington Large Fowl (well definitely an Orpington, I've assumed black). Fertile egg bought from a reputable breeder here in the UK. 3 hatched, all different colours, all look like Orpingtons.

This one is a bit bigger than the other 2 that hatched and has pink Comb and Wattles which the others do not. I realise these are good signs for it being a cockerel, however the 2 people at the allotment where I keep them, one of whom has chickens now and had had for a long time growing up also, and one who had them a lot growing up both think it is a pullet based on body shape and the way he \ she walks etc.

It's my first time so I am clueless bar what I have read - and I have read a lot of threads and it seems Orpingtons can be tricky. Is the logical thought Cockerel but just wait and see or do you feel fairly certain one way or another?

Thank you

Al
PXL_20230927_085731412.MP.jpg

PXL_20230927_083839292.jpg

You can see the Legbar cockerel of the same age behind with a much more developed combe and wattles

PXL_20230927_083843865.jpg

You can see the sister in the bottom right and difference head wise.

It's my first post with photos so hope they have uploaded ok.

Thanks

Al

Thank you very much for commenting - I hope you are correct!

I will post photos in another few weeks to this thread etc until I know for sure, to see how things have changed which will hopefully help others - I'll add a couple of photos from when she (hopefully) was younger also.

I have a 10.5 week old Black Orpington Large Fowl (well definitely an Orpington, I've assumed black). Fertile egg bought from a reputable breeder here in the UK. 3 hatched, all different colours, all look like Orpingtons.

You can see the Legbar cockerel of the same age behind with a much more developed combe and wattles....You can see the sister in the bottom right and difference head wise.