100% cockerel? 3 month old GLW

LisaChick1

Songster
5 Years
Jul 10, 2014
Carmel Valley
Born May 31, 2014. 3 months old approx. feathered in quickly .
But assumed this beauty is a roo for some time now by waddle and comb but thought it'd be good to get some extra opinions to be sure
3 month old golden laced wyandotte. Thank you!!
Not sure of their typical comb and waddle but "his" is quite large for the age, no crowing yet, seems to be pack leader, I believe has pointed feathers around the neck but I'm new to this.

Last edited:
Well, many hatchery Wyandottes have single combs, unfortunately, but I can't tell if he's even a Wyandotte from that photo. If this bird is definitely only 3 months old, its a cockerel, though. The saddle area is what you want to show for the best indicator of male traits, the area just in front of the tail. A full body shot is best.

Last edited:
I've assumed this beauty is a roo for some time now but thought it'd be good to get some extra opinions to be sure
3 month old golden laced wyandotte. Thank you!!
Not sure of their typical comb and waddle but "his" is quite large for the age, no crowing yet, seems to be pack leader, I believe has pointed feathers around the neck but I'm new to this.
Not sure it is a golden laced wyandotte they have rose comb and yep it's a roo.

Quote: But not at 3 months old, CC. That is a honking huge comb for 12 weeks old. Still, you're definitely correct, as I also said, about the body shot.

I do find that folks lose track of their birds' ages. I've done that myself. Could be older than 3 months, but if it is only 3 mths old, it's not a pullet.

Last edited:
But not at 3 months old, CC. That is a honking huge comb for 12 weeks old. Still, you're definitely correct, as I also said, about the body shot.

I do find that folks lose track of their birds' ages. I've done that myself. Could be older than 3 months, but if it is only 3 mths old, it's not a pullet.