About 10 hens and only 2 are laying

AnelysFL

Hatching
May 19, 2023
Hi everyone so I am new to chicken owning! I got most of my ladies and gents back in February and March and I’ve bought a couple over time some older. I have about 7 girls that should be laying per age but only 2 of them are laying and very consistent almost every day. So what’s wrong 😑. They mostly free range all day their coop door is open they go in as they please. I am OCD and clean out and scrub their coops every week. They have fresh water they get fed very good. And I’ve changed their feed already but no difference. I need answers lol. Na just want to know if anyone experienced this and what helped fix it. Pic of some of the freeloaders attached.

Attachments

• IMG_7219.jpeg
    IMG_7219.jpeg
    1.2 MB · Views: 162
I'm a little confused, it sounds like some just started laying or are about to (5-6 months), but you also have some that are older. Did they lay more frequently and then drop? Or have some of them just not started?

Many breeds can take up to six months to start laying, and even then you want to make sure they are actually laying in the boxes, and that no predator could take them.

Also an aside, you probably don't want to scrub the coop often. It is actually better to just dry scrape everything or have poop boards because you won't invite mold from the extra moisture of washing, and most cleaning products (especially bleach) is really bad for their respiratory systems. I don't think this is related to the lack of eggs, but it may help them to do better overall.

Chicken not laying could be a lot of reasons - too young, too old, weather too cold, too hot. Chicken goes broody, is moulting, or being sick, to name a few.