Aggressive rooster - little hen seems traumatized

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by MrsClucky, Sep 9, 2008.

1. MrsClucky

MrsClucky Out Of The Brooder

May 10, 2008
    Silverton, OR
    One of our young roosters has just recently starting crowing and mating with the hens. We have one hen who is older than the others and about half their size. She seems to be the one the rooster finds the most alluring. But whenever he approaches her, she runs for her life! And when he finally catches her, he is very violent with her. Her little head is smashed into the dirt and her feathers all get askew. He seems to really crush her and bite her neck. This morning she was so distressed she would not even eat any peas. That's a favorite treat! I'm a chicken novice so this may be normal but when he mates with the other hens, it doesn't seem to trouble them. There's some squawking and flapping but it's not violent.

Also, he is occasionally making a half-hearted leap for me when I come into their pen. Someone told me to pick him up and carry him around as much as possible and that will help solve the problem. I am and it has worked so far. But I'm wondering if anyone has any other advice?

Thanks!
    Bea
    6 chickens, 4 goats, 4 dogs, 5 cats... and counting

Last edited: Sep 9, 2008
  2. WriterofWords

WriterofWords Has Fainting Chickens

Dec 25, 2007
    Chaparral, New Mexico
    Find a safe place and keep him away from her. I have several of my smaller ladies where the roos can't bother them, it's not worth them being traumatized and not even wanting to eat. She's just too small for him and it will end up hurting her too much.

3. seminolewind

seminolewind Flock Mistress Premium Member

Sep 6, 2007
    spring hill, florida
    You might want to make or buy a chicken saddle to lessen the damage, or dissuade him altogether. Or get rid of him. A roo should be a gentleman . I wouldn't keep one that's not.

4. Cuban Longtails