Automatic door shuts on chickens.

totallyroosted3

Hatching
Jun 5, 2016
I am new to chickens and our 5 week old chickens have been in there coop for a week now. They go in at night but huddle half in and half out the door. When the automatic door shuts they just sit there and let the door come down on them pinning them in the doorway. I use a light inside to get the in and turn it off once they are all in. The have food and water in the back to entice them to go all the way in but choose to stay in the doorway. Has anyone had this issue or a similar one? I would love any input on how to keep them inside all the way.

They are young and frightened. I would expect it to take a while for them to feel comfortable. They have no mother hen to call them inside and to let them know it's safe. You can try a night light, but personally I wouldn't use the automatic door until they are bit older and expect to go out and put them to bed for a while until they grow up some, you have to be their mother hen.

Do you have a window in your coop? If it is dark in your coop and lighter outside, they'll tend to stay where they can see. If that's the case, a night light on a timer can really help.

And I agree, you'll need to put them to bed until they get the routine down. They're still little.

Last night I went out a little early and placed them on the roosting bar. Normally they jump right off and right to the door but this time they stayed. I went out later around the time the door shuts and they were all right where I left them. I will continue to put them in and on the roosting bar and see how things go. Thanks for all the input. I have a few more chickens coming today so I better get used to the process lol.

We have 2 Buff Orpingtons and 1 black Australorp currently. We ordered 3 Golden Campines that should arrive today or tomorrow. It has been a lot of fun so far and I can't wait for the new additions.