Best feeder for fermented grains?

ChickyHawk

Songster
Dec 23, 2018
What would be the best type/style feeder for 6 hens? They are 7 weeks old on Scratch & Peck Grower Grains. They were previously on like a pellet/mash style, which I just threw in a rubber pan. I like that the rubber pan is simple and cheap, but they seem to be really crowded, especially when one stands right in the middle. They are in a deep mulch run, so leaves get kicked around everywhere. I don't think the gravity type would allow the feed to flow correctly since its moist. I heard that a metal trough would rust like overnight. Are the plastic type with the little holes just for chicks? Sorry, I'm a total newbie - about the only thing I know about chickens that my neighbors don't is that you don't need a rooster to get eggs :)
Thank you for helping me. I'm really liking this site. Not a lot of people in my community have chickens. They are asking me 'how-to' questions - which of course I have no idea the answer. It is nice to get support on here.

IMG_20181115_161326266_LL.jpg

I made my 4' long fermented feeder trough out of 4" PVC pipe with end caps screwed on each end. I suspend a narrow pipe over the trough to keep the chickens out of it. I can adjust the height as needed with the chains.
It works well.

I currently have 7 chickens. I use 2 cat food bowls as they're small enough to discourage chickens walking in it, though I only offer fermented feed in the morning. Sit them on some bricks to elevate them over the run bedding.

Then after their fermented feed has been eaten, to they just peck around on grass/insects or do you have dry feed available too?

View attachment 1652385
I made my 4' long fermented feeder trough out of 4" PVC pipe with end caps screwed on each end. I suspend a narrow pipe over the trough to keep the chickens out of it. I can adjust the height as needed with the chains.
It works well.