Bought some Hens today and they got in a fight.......

TNChick82

Songster
12 Years
Mar 8, 2011
Oneida, TN
Well went to a livestock sales and flea market today. In London, KY. I bought a 4 2 month old hens off of a very nice couple. We got 2 white leg horns and 2 golden comets. I had brought a large pet taxi with me. So we put all 4 in the cage. They were fine for a while and then the white ones attacked the red ones. I separated them just as quickly as I could. Found a box it put the comets in. One of the comets did have a place next to her tail feathers. Now I am so worried they will kill her. If I put them all the the coop together. What do I need to do? I don't have a separate place to put her. Can I put anything on her wound? I am still new to all this. I really like the golden comets. They are very friendly. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!!

You can put antibiotic ointment on the wound (with no pain killers in it). If it looks like it needs washing you can wash it first.

With a wound, generally you must separate a chicken or they will turn cannibalistic.

You have a pet carrier- will it fit inside the coop? You can put the injured chicken in it at night to protect her (and the other Comet too).

Can you set them up with a separate temporary pen for daytime with some chicken wire or anything on hand to go inside the run? If they free range, maybe they won't pick on each other at that time. I don't know how the Leghorns will treat them free ranging.

IF the wound is severe, and the Comet needs rest, she can just stay all day and night in the carrier to recuperate. But you haven't said that she is that bad, so I assume she needs exercise.

Also, there is a anti-bacterial spray called Blu-Kote. It is blue, so that the other chickens won't see any blood or red spots! I have used it plenty and never had a problem with it!

Quote:
Hello,