Kitkat1992

In the Brooder
May 24, 2023
Symptoms:
》small but noticeable loss of appetite
》hint of lethargic (still follows flock. around. to swim & rummage through. the garden for bugs)
》begining to not want to stand & use one leg​
》weak
First time I noticed was last night. Im a newbie when it comes to ducks. I recently had the pekin die not to long ago from what I think was Botulism disease. The leg paralysis that's starting is making me worry that it's the same thing. I need help with determining what's wrong with my 7 week old caygua duck before it's to late. Any advice and/or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I do have a video link I'll post on here as soon as it's finished uploading on YouTube.

Wish I could help, but I’m m not experienced with Ducks or Fowl diseases, sorry. I would tag duck people on here but I only know quail and chicken people.
Hope your duck is ok :hugs ♥️

Symptoms:
》small but noticeable loss of appetite
》hint of lethargic (still follows flock. around. to swim & rummage through. the garden for bugs)
》begining to not want to stand & use one leg​
》weak
First time I noticed was last night. Im a newbie when it comes to ducks. I recently had the pekin die not to long ago from what I think was Botulism disease. The leg paralysis that's starting is making me worry that it's the same thing. I need help with determining what's wrong with my 7 week old caygua duck before it's to late. Any advice and/or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I do have a video link I'll post on here as soon as it's finished uploading on YouTube.
Can you describe their set up the food your feeding and have they been on niacin supplements if so which ones?

Could be a deficiency or disease. I'm very sorry about this. If it is botulism, and there is a possibility for sure, then treatment can be started with charcoal. Please see attached image:

Attachments

• 20230730_211626.jpg
    20230730_211626.jpg
    103.6 KB · Views: 3