Chicken blind in one eye

irsmun

In the Brooder
Mar 23, 2022
Out of the blue about a week ago one of my chickens was closing her eye. I opened her eyelid to see her iris red and a small white dot near the middle. It looked like an injury though I didn't know what. I flushed her eyes out with contact solution and applied triple antibiotic ointment a few times. There were no changes. I never saw drainage and I think it may be mildly swollen though I am new to chickens. She used to be feisty and near the top of the order but now she keeps to herself and is not very active. She seems to be drinking but eating less. I am not sure if its because she is not hungry or that she is avoiding the other birds.

Checking today I saw that her eye is completely white. I don't know what this means. Is it just blind or is there something I need to do for her? My best guess it that she got pecked by one of the other birds.

20220701_181413.jpg

20220701_181457.jpg

I'm thinking that's pus and that her eye is infected. It looks quite swollen, too. I had a chick with an infected eye. I took her to a vet who cleaned out all the white stuff and put her on antibiotics both orally and via eye ointment. Is a vet an option? If not, you can try cleaning out all the white and treating with antibiotic ointment. Oh - I believe Vetericyn comes in an eye ointment, too. You can also use fish mox or get antibiotics without a prescription. I just google "baytril no prescription."

Just an update.

Within an hour or so of removing the pus this morning she started acting like herself. It was quite extraordinary. She was eating and hanging out with everyone else and being active. It was a major change in her countenance. I am amazed at how quickly that happened.