Chicken struggling with balance

Fourchicken07855

In the Brooder
Jul 17, 2020
Ok so this is my first time using this website. Two days ago we noticed one of our four chickens was looking a bit funny. She was displaying the symptoms for being egg bound so we put her in a warm Epsom salt bath(we have done this before for another chicken) and massaged her vent. It also said to put a finger up her vent so this is what we did. This time we couldn’t feel an egg stuck. We kept her in the bath with a vented box and a towel. When we took her out her comb was slightly purple and floppy. After looking this up we figured it was because she had been in a warm bath so the comb was due to overheating. We took her back out and replaced her in the coop with the three others where she seemed to have trouble balancing and eventually just lay down and closed her eyes taking surprisingly slow breaths. We left her there to see what would happen and that night she didn’t go up the ramp into our coop but lay in a small hole underneath it looking like she was dying. This morning we have taken her out and put her in a small box(as shown in the photo).
image.jpg
During all this we noticed another chicken was displaying the same symptoms puffed up, bum low to the ground and now we are worried two of our chickens will die because we don’t know what is wrong with them so we can’t medicate!
Please could someone let me know what is wrong!
Thank you

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    745.9 KB · Views: 7
Last edited:
I had a pullet with the same thing, she couldn’t uncurl her feet or balance...her wings were drooped and her neck was twisted...she wasn’t lethargic and had a good appetite, but she was gasping and seemed in pain so we’ve had to put her down :(

I hope and still think it wasn’t mareks because none of my others are sick, but it can lay dormant for a while...fingers crossed...