Cochin/Brahma help needed.

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by SunAngel, Apr 28, 2009.

1. SunAngel

SunAngel Chillin' With My Peeps

May 20, 2008
    Chambersburg, Pa.
    Or am I wrong on what I am seeing?

I ordered two Red Cochins (standards) and these two look similar...but...they have feather issues. I am no expert, but does chick #2 have a color identity crisis?

[​IMG]

Chick #1 (I think this really is a Red Cochin..looks buff now tho)
    [​IMG]

Chick #2 (Black and white wing feathers on a Red bird?)
    [​IMG]

Problem #2....

I also ordered 2 Light Brahmas...I am seeing a difference in their feathering as well.

[​IMG]

Chick #1 (Dark feathers with light markings on them)
    [​IMG]

Chick #2 (White feathers with dark markings on them)
    [​IMG]

These 4 are all supposed to be pullets. Will their feathering change or did I get something different than what I ordered?

Thanks for looking [​IMG]

Last edited: Apr 28, 2009
  2. kinnip

kinnip Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 24, 2008
    Carrollton, GA
    I'm not surprised. I got a SLW with a single comb from Ideal. I don't think they're particularly vigilant over their breeders.

3. greenfamilyfarms

greenfamilyfarms Big Pippin'

Feb 27, 2008
    Elizabethtown, NC
    Did you allow substituitions? If so, they probably did. They are pretty much swamped with orders right now.

4. SunAngel

May 20, 2008
    Chambersburg, Pa.
    I didn't place the order, I will have to ask my friend. We went in together on a larger order. We placed the order back in Jan and it looked like we got exactly what we ordered, no extras. But now that they are starting to feather out, I am wondering what I really got lol.

As long as they are pullets and Cochins/Brahmas, I am fine with it. Just mostly curious about that buff one getting white/black feathers.

Last edited: Apr 28, 2009
  5. rodriguezpoultry

rodriguezpoultry Langshan Lover

Jan 4, 2009
    Claremore, OK