Cockerel/Rooster (what should I do?)

Fricasee

Songster
6 Years
Jun 6, 2014
Durango, Colorado
this is my second run at chickens so I'm very new at it

I got six hens in March, and very soon after picked up ten chicks at Tractor Supply. Two of them turned out to be cockerels. Then I was gifted a hen from a friend when a bear was visiting his coop regularly and she was the last hen left. A month ago a guest's dog got into the run and killed one hen and one of the cockerels. Stupid dog killed the good cockerel. I picked up a free polish cockerel from a Craigslist ad and added him to the flock. He is sweet and shy and doesn't bother the hens. I feel bad for him. He keeps to himself a lot, but over time he is integrating more and more.

Now...for the other rooster. He is relentless in pursuit of the hens and pullets. I spent 30-45 minutes in the garden with them chopping thistles yesterday after work. I saw him mate maybe a dozen times in that time span. I'm not experienced at all with rooster/cockerel behavior, so is this excessive? He will chase his target all around the whole run until either he gets smacked by one of the other hens or until he catches his target. It seems to be stressing them out, and he also bullies the other little polish cockerel. (when are they deemed rooster after cockerel anyway?) He is not aggressive to me "yet". I pick him up when I can catch him and hold him and pet and examine and he doesn't struggle.

I'm wonder if I should remove him from the flock or am I being too judgemental of him?

A cockerel is officially a rooster when it reaches one year of age.