Coop Maintenance

Ahernaa8045

In the Brooder
Jul 12, 2023
Hi everyone! I’m new to this community of owning chickens, and I wanted to know what everyone thinks is the best method for coop maintenance. I had heard that people use coarse washed construction sand (river sand or bank sand) in the coop and run, which makes for easy poop clean up. People who use that then use a scooper to scope the poop as you would a litter box. However, this is my first time hearing about it. I would love to keep my chicken coop as clean as possible, so I wanted to know if other people have tried this before. I’m wondering whether the sand would be dangerous for the chickens if they were to pick at it a bit and eat some of the sand.

Hi everyone! I’m new to this community of owning chickens, and I wanted to know what everyone thinks is the best method for coop maintenance. I had heard that people use coarse washed construction sand (river sand or bank sand) in the coop and run, which makes for easy poop clean up. People who use that then use a scooper to scope the poop as you would a litter box. However, this is my first time hearing about it. I would love to keep my chicken coop as clean as possible, so I wanted to know if other people have tried this before. I’m wondering whether the sand would be dangerous for the chickens if they were to pick at it a bit and eat some of the sand.
Welcome!!

What is your setup like (maybe post pics)? What size coop & run? Is it well-ventilated? Do you have a poop shelf in the coop? How many chickens? Where do you live/climate? Answers to these questions will help to figure out what litter will work best for your situation. :)

Sand will not hurt the chickens if they eat it. They eat dirt/grit to help them digest the things they eat.

Pics would definitely help. I used to use pine shavings in the coop, deep bedding method. Have switched over to hemp and haven't looked back. @3KillerBs has a good article on it.
Using Deep Bedding in a Small Coop