Feeding chickens only sprouts

Pics

Hunter81103

Chirping
Dec 13, 2020
I was wondering some of your thoughts on feeding chickens only sprouts, I’m relatively new to all this, I have been giving layer feed but I wanted to switch to sprouts only and I will be providing vitamins/ minerals and oyster shells, but my question was, will my chickens continue to lay the same as on layer feed ?

I was wondering some of your thoughts on feeding chickens only sprouts, I’m relatively new to all this, I have been giving layer feed but I wanted to switch to sprouts only and I will be providing vitamins/ minerals and oyster shells, but my question was, will my chickens continue to lay the same as on layer feed ?
That is not a complete diet and will be woefully lacking in protein. Stick to a complete feed for the health and well being of your flock.

Is there any more natural way to go without layer feed that would be more balanced
More balanced than layer feed? No.
More balanced than sprouting a mix of grains and lentils? Maybe, but it won't be easy or cheap.

If you want the cheapest thing that is properly balanced to keep your chickens healthy, then buy layer feed, or chick starter, or grower. Offer a separate dish of oyster shell, and provide water at all times. That's the best for cheap, easy, & healthy.

The layer feed is meant to provide everything a layer needs, but the chick starter or grower will provide everything except calcium, and will have a higher level of protein than layer feed.

chickens in the wild do not eat pre bagged feed they eat what’s in their environment
Chickens in the wild don't lay as many eggs, either.
Since most domesticated chickens have been bred to lay more eggs, they have different nutritional needs than the wild chickens.

Also, wild chickens would be able to forage over a much larger area than people usually provide for their domestic chickens.