Firm Swollen Abdomen

Fricasee

Songster
6 Years
Jun 6, 2014
Durango, Colorado
My easter egger, Helga. She is a year old. Has a swollen abdomen. I came home from work last Wednesday to find one of my hens dead in the yard with no injury and had not been showing any signs of illness. I decided to check everyone out to see if something was going on with the rest of them when I noticed Helga hunkered down with a drooping tail. When I picked her up I immediately noticed her swollen belly. It is between her vent and her legs. I took her inside and bathed her and let her sleep indoors overnight. During the bath I did probe her to check for an egg and I didn't think I felt anything but it was the first time I had done this. I'm new at chicken keeping. Anyway, she was pooping fine, and in the morning there was a thin shelled egg in her box.

The swelling seemed squishy when I first noticed it but now it feels to me like it has firmed up. She is waddling where she used to be quite quick. I went ahead and made an appointment with my vet for a couple days from now.

Any thoughts on what this could be? and what if anything I can do to help her out until I can get her to her vet appointment on Wednesday? My inexperience and google seems to indicate ascites but why? Is it normal for such a young hen to get this ill?

Ascites sounds likely to me as well.

I've only ever found it in production hens, though many videos online show it in other types. I've never seen it in a Leghorn, but I have seen it in one ISA (Out of the five we owned—she was nearly two years old) and one Production Red (out of twenty-three—she was four.)