Freshly hatched gosling in incubator

NevadaEmma

Songster
Mar 24, 2021
Only one of the two goose eggs I had in my incubator hatched. It had a hard time getting through the membrane so I did help it a bit. It has been shaking as if it is cold. I had the temp. at 99.5 and raised it to 100.5. It is only about an hour old, chirping and trying to stand up. It is in in a Brinsea incubator that I use for my chickens. I think it may be too low for it to fully stand. I have a brooder ready and heated for it.

This is my first try at incubating a goose egg. Is the shaking typical? Can I move it out of the incubator before it is fully fluffed up? Thanks

I have some chicks that are about one month old. Is there too much of an age gap to eventually place the goose in with the chicks?

Only one of the two goose eggs I had in my incubator hatched. It had a hard time getting through the membrane so I did help it a bit. It has been shaking as if it is cold. I had the temp. at 99.5 and raised it to 100.5. It is only about an hour old, chirping and trying to stand up. It is in in a Brinsea incubator that I use for my chickens. I think it may be too low for it to fully stand. I have a brooder ready and heated for it.

This is my first try at incubating a goose egg. Is the shaking typical? Can I move it out of the incubator before it is fully fluffed up? Thanks
It takes a while for them to be able to stand and chirp. Keep it warm and comfy while it dries and learns to stand. When it stands up it will try to get out, so keep it safe from escaping/falling - the brooder should be ok - do you have a mom for it? or is that you? I wouldn't put it with the chickens (I don't actually have any experience, just guessing) because chickens can be wicked pecky.