Galvanized Metal Vs. Plastic feeders...Which is better?

ChickenPie31

Hatching
8 Years
Jun 11, 2011
Hello, Newbie here;

We are excited to be getting our first three hens (for egg production) and a hand built coop next week and have been rigoriously researching feeders and waterers.

I've found two main material feeders and waterers on the market, galvanized metal and plastic. Does any one have any preferences that they can share? The "make your own bucket feeder" posted on another thread looks pretty amazing and inexpensive which is attractive but I was wondering if anyone had any feedback on the metal ones as well. Cleanliness? Bacteria growth? Etc.

We live inland in Southern California and we have very hot, dry summers, my only concern with the metal is that the surface might be a little hot for the birds come August or September. Obviously shade would keep the feeder cooler, which we plan on but still when the temp hits 110-115 I want to be sure my birds can still eat and drink.

I would appriciate any comments or suggestions.
Thanks!

tongue.png

I prefer the plastic waterers because the galvanized ones rust. Too bad, because I like the way the big galvanized ones work.

The plastic waterer I like the best has a hexagon shaped tray and a screw on lid. There is a little cap that you put on the water spout when you fill the jar and/ or move it around.

Really, either feeder will work. I have both. The metal does break down eventually (4 years I think) and the plastic hold up amazingly well, or mine have. I also find them easier to wash. You didn't ask about waterers, but I'll mention that sometimes you may want to add medicine, vinegar, etc. to the water, and you often can't do this with metal because it interacts. I'm not a big plastic person but I sure like it for the chickens. A little bleach when cleaning them, now and then, makes it so easy with plastic, but you don't want to put bleach in metal.