Getting started next week....

musikfan6

In the Brooder
8 Years
Jan 16, 2012
Lititz, PA
Greetings everyone.

I'm getting ready to gear up for the very first time - getting my 5 peeps on the 12th of March. I've never done this before. So, quick questions for you all:

1. Is it OK to keep my peeps in my garage with a heat lamp, or should they be in the house somewhere??
2. What's the best way to enclose them?
3. What should I put down on the floor of the garage? Hay, newspaper, etc? Do they need a covered area to go inside of?
4. How long will they be there until I can move them to the coop?

OK. That's pretty much what I need to know at this point. I'm laughing to myself because I really have no idea what I'm doing. I'm just going on my "common sense" and a little bit of what I've read. The sight is so huge, so please forgive me for asking questions that are common knowledge to most of you out there. Thanks!!

1. Garage will be fine, I brooded my first chicks in my garage. The dust they create may not make your husband happy though.
2. You can use a cardboard box, kiddie pool, dog crate, playpen, wooden box, etc to hold the chicks. Make sure you have some sort of screening to put over the top. By 1 week, they can usually get to the edge of the enclosure.
3. Pine shavings are the most absorbent. Newspaper is too slick and can cause leg problems in chicks. You can cover the shavings with paper towels for the first few days until they get used to where the food is.
4. They will need a heat source until they are completely feathered, usually at 6 weeks.

Make sure your heat source is secured REALLY well. Secure it in 2-3 different ways. I use a chain and several zip ties as back ups in case one fails.

have fun , I am exspecting my first chicks this monday. i have my brooder in my furnace room. I was going to keep them in my garage but i couldnt get the temp in the brooder warm enough. good luck..