Hatchery vs. Breeder?

micstrachan

Addict
8 Years
Apr 10, 2016
Santa Cruz Mountains, California
Hi. I am in my second year of keeping chickens and have a mixed flock of nine. I had ten, but lost my first girl a few weeks ago. Heartbreaking. So heartbreaking, in fact, that moving forward, next time I add to my flock, I am determined to purchase chicks that are hardy and have the best chance for a healthy life.
My chickens are beloved pets with the added bonus of eggs. I don't need then to be bred to lay until their little bodies give out. In fact, my sick girl got hormones to prevent her from laying since laying was killing her.
Sooo... I have read a few times about chicks from breeders vs. hatcheries, and that hatchery hens die from reproductive issues over 80% of the time. Mine have all been from my local feed store. I am pretty sure they get their chicks from a hatchery in/near AZ... maybe Privett? I suspect my flock is smaller than breeder chickens. My New Hampshire Red who passed was barely over four pounds. She was always dainty, even before she got sick. She was adorable. But in the future, as I already stated, I want to be careful to get hardy chickens, as their suffering is too difficult to bear.
How does one go about finding a reputable breeder? And if anyone has educated opinions and experience on the matter, I would appreciate you sharing your perspective. Thank you in advance.

There is no guarantee that breeders chickens will not die expectantly. Most breeders tend to breed chickens closer to SOP . This way they tend to bring in a higher price and are closer to show quality. Remember that 2 show quality chickens bred together do not automatically make show quality offspring.