Hello from Ohio!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by debwhitt, Jul 18, 2016.

1. debwhitt

debwhitt In the Brooder

Jul 18, 2016
    Circleville ohio
    Im new here to posting, however I've been using all your info as I am a beginner at incubating. I've been raising ( store bought chicks) for about 5 years. I currently have 2 buff orphingtons, 1 silver lace Wyandot, 1 isa brown, 3 MLD's( I hatched 4 weeks ago, and I currently have a dozen Wellsummer eggs in the bator due Wednesday this week, all look viable as far as I can tell with them being so dark it's impossible to see movement. I've only tried 4 times to hatch, the first time was a disaster, the second time I hatched 3 of 6. The third time I hatched 6 of 8 (welsummers I gave to my son) and this time... Well we will see.... I'm excited!! I live on a large lot right outside of town, we have no ordinance at all for chickens, however to be polite I will give any roosters to me son who keeps around 4o chickens on 6 acres. I have a 10x12 run that is 6.5' tall and a insulated coop inside so it fits around 10 chickens happily, I only keep 6 at a time in there. I keep them mainly as pets with egg benefits. My grandsons are learning responsibilities as a bonus!! I thought I was a little strange to love these birds so much,but as I can see I'm in good company here!! It's an informative group and I appreciate all the fantastic articles, it has really improved my incubation skills!!

2. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Hello there and welcome to BYC! [​IMG]

We are so glad you could join our community! We sure are full of all the fun, learning and chicken chatting.

Good luck with this hatch! Hatching disasters happen in the beginning. I know my first one wasn't the best and I only had a couple hatch. But we learn as we go.