HELP , chick may be sick

Weezul98

In the Brooder
5 Years
Apr 3, 2014
Help, yesterday we noticed one chick (6 weeks old) acting sluggish and solitary. It was just kind of standing around by itself. We saw it drinking, but not sure if was eating. Today it was still drinking, again, not sure if it was drinking. ( I have not had much time to sit there and watch). Today when my son went to pick it up, but before he could it threw up a clear mucousy substance. I am brand new to chickens. They were treTed for cocci a few weeks ago and are on starter feed and whatever they scratch up in the run. We do give them treats such as zucchini, cucumber, meal worms, earth worms. Any info and help would be great. I am preparing the kids for the worst but am hoping it is just a cold. They do have a heat lamp at night and daytime temps have been in the 80's. Could rapid temp change cause stress sickness? We were around mid sixty temps then our weather changed to mid to upper eighties. Thank you in advance for any help.:idunno

Update: I just went out and picked her up. Her crop felt squishy/sponges. So I read about sour crop and then made her vomit. At first it was clear and mucousy then I thought I saw a piece of grass, not sure if it came out, then it looked like mooshy chick crumble. I put her down and my son gave me their fresh food and she voraciously attacked the chick crumble. Does this sound right to any of you veteran chicken keepers? This gives me a little hope that it is not anything very serious. We did just move their chicken tractor a few days ago and it did have some long grass in the run. Also we have been getting lots of rain, and I mean lots, and one other chick looked like she was rolling in the mud! Lol. Is that normal?

Sorry about the misspelled words. I was typing fast and some of them were probably due to auto correct which I have not figured out yet.:D