Help! I'm new to raising ducks and my duck is being picky

Epi_03

In the Brooder
Jun 15, 2022
My duck is around five weeks old- i unintentionally hatched them. ive been introducing vegetables and fruits into their diet dince last week and so far they are enjoying it.

But lately, they've been really picky. They've only touched a bit of their main food. I tried wetting the food or giving it dry with their water beside and still less eating :<.

Theyve been given either rice, feed, or oats and so far ricr has been the one thats been touched most. But when I placed a few watercress chopped in the rice they only picked the watercress out and didnt eat much of the rice...

They do drink a lot of water.

I'm also trying to find a way to add more niacin in their food cause resources in my area for ducks are scarce...

Ducklings need a really good source of nutrients when young so adding other things to their feed isn't a good idea because of what you are seeing they may not be eating their feed. You should be feeding only a good quality feed for poultry or waterfowl[ we realize not everyone has access to waterfowl feed] so we use poultry feed and add something like Nutritional yeast over their feed. 1 Tab per cup of feed till at least 10-12 weeks old. This is when they are growing the fastest and need good nutrition. Everything else your giving your duckling should be just a treat and in very small amount. 10% of it's daily feed.
Just like a kid if you put good wholesome food on the table and a cookie or slice of cake which one do you think they will choose.
Nutritional yeast can be found at some grocery stores that have bulk food or natural food stores or on line.
How did you unintentionally hatch ducklings?
:welcome