HELP!!! ... My Duck is trying to mate with my Hens!

happyhippywales

Songster
7 Years
Jan 27, 2015
West Wales UK
Hiya .. i'm in need of some advice on this matter.
I have 2 Aylesburie ducks that are 7 months old, recently i realised one was male as he was eager to climb on top of the other duck and mate. My two hens and both ducks all live in the garden shed and have always been fine together, but since eggs have started arriving the male, ( pato ), has been trying to mate with my hens! When i lock them in at night the hens make a dash for higher ground as he chases them ... but today i had to seperate him from the flock as he chased both hens around the garden, got them on the back of the neck and climbed on!
My hens have started laying very large eggs ... not sure if this has any thing to do with that or not as i am still in my first year of owning ducks and chickens and this is the first time we have had fresh eggs. But the duck and hen eggs are the same size!!
Is this behaviour something that will stop ? or will i need to seperate the ducks from chickens from now on?

Regards to all,
Lisa.

Male ducks (except for Muscovies) will have what's called a "drake feather" on their tail. It curls upwards. Also, males and females have completely different voices. Females tend to be rather noisy and make the iconic "quack" everyone associates with ducks. Males are quieter and have a raspy, whispery kind of voice. This is a great video showing the different voices of the sexes. It's in Swedish, but in the description they have it in English:

As for the drake feather, below is my male Cinnamon showing off his. Females won't have those curly feathers sticking up above their tail.

Oh, and yes, adding two more female ducks would be perfect. :)

Last edited: