Hen being bullied

Rhodies Mom

Hatching
Apr 5, 2017
My name is Teresa. I live in Washington State. This is my first time raising chickens. I have 4 hens that are a year old. About 3 months ago one of my girl was missing feathers. I was worried she was sick so I separated her until I could figure it out. Turns out she was molting. Since it was winter I left her where she could stay warm because she was half naked. I have since tried to reintroduce her and now 2 of the hens will not let her into the run. She is being kept prisoner in the coop. She doesn't look injured but I don't want her to be bullied anymore. Any advice will be helpful. Thanks

Since your hen has been gone for three months, she lost her place in the pecking order. The others remember her but they still look at her as an outsider.

I would treat the situation as if you were introducing a new hen. I wrote an article for BYC about introducing a new hen to my flock. It's linked below in my signature line. You might find some useful tips in it.

Basically, you need to be patient while your hen is trying to fit back in. She has lost her self confidence and is trying to get it back by hiding out in the coop. There is a real danger that she might not get enough to eat during this reintegration period, so be sure to feed her where the others can't keep her from eating.

Hello Teresa,

I had the same problem and my Penny had only been absent from her flock one week.

It is more difficult to get a flock to accept only one hen back, I think absence for 3 months will take longer than my ordeal, but it can be accomplished.

The link in my signature below is an article I wrote about a successful reintegration of one hen to her flock - hope it helps.

I had a lot of advice that really did work - can you post pics of your "arrangement" the run, coop, and how you are separating the BR?