His and Hers DIY 50# feeders

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by 4bdennis, May 29, 2016.

1. 4bdennis

4bdennis Out Of The Brooder Premium Member

Jan 14, 2016
    Maryville, Tennessee
    Last week while watching the chickens I noticed the roosters eating feathers of the hens after mating.
    SO I studied up and read they need more protein. That meant new feed and feeder, i just switched over to layer feed..
    Well i ended up building two feeders and it has worked beautiful . They both hold 50# of feed .
    For the most part they eat there own feed and the feather pulling has stopped,

[​IMG]

2. oldhenlikesdogs

oldhenlikesdogs Lots of Chickens Premium Member

Jul 16, 2015
    central Wisconsin
    I personally don't feed layer, it often isn't enough protein for backyard flocks. I feed an all flock with oyster shells offered in a separate bowl. I also think the extra calcium in layer is bad for roosters.

Those are really nice feeders. Do they eat out of the appropriate ones? [​IMG]

3. BruceAZ

BruceAZ Chillin' With My Peeps

May 18, 2016
    Valley of the Sun :)
    what about this one ? supplementing oyster shell along with this feed would be sufficient?

[​IMG]

4. oldhenlikesdogs

Jul 16, 2015
    central Wisconsin
    It's the 16% protein that can cause troubles, I like something with 18-20%, if fed as a sole ration, layer is suppose to be enough to keep a chicken healthy and laying without getting fat. Backyard flocks often receive other things to eat which cuts the overall protein, something like cracked corn is 8%, so scratch can be detrimental if too much is fed, but add higher protein ration and they can handle some as a treat without becoming egg eaters and feather pickers.