How many chickens do you have and what do you do with all the eggs?

SelfMadeFarming

Chirping
6 Years
Sep 9, 2013
This is my first year raising chickens on my own.
I currently have 5 hens.
I'm curious to know how many chickens is appropriate to feed a family of 5 and still have some for family and friends.
I'm thinking of downsizing to only 3 hens, although I've grown attached to all of them.

I always suggest two hens for each member of the family, if you like eggs. This provides at least 1 egg per day per family member. Eggs will keep for weeks on the counter and for month in the refrigerator. I can't have too many eggs! And if I do, you're right, start giving them away to family, friends, neighbors. So I would keep all 5 hens if I were you.

If you've got production hatchery birds then one bird per family member is enough. Pullet year with RIR (production reds), Barred Rocks, Black Stars and Leghorns we were inundated with eggs. Our first year with chickens and all hatchery production birds. 8 pullets to 6 family members, was getting 6-7 eggs per week per bird. Every two weeks I'd make up a big batch of egg salad to use them up and keep the freshest eggs for sunny side up on toast.

If you've got heritage stock then you need more than one bird per family member as your likely to only get 4-5 eggs per bird per week. It depends on how much you eat eggs. A family of 5 can consume two dozen scrambled during Saturday morning brunch.

Another great way to get rid of a building supply of eggs is to make deviled eggs or pickle them, use the pickled polish sausage containers with juice for something a little spicey. Both get gobbled up in no time by the kids for snacks.

Thanks for the info.
I think I'm going to end up keeping all 5, I think I would chicken out if I had to give some away.
They are all from a hatchery
2 Barred Rocks - 1 Rhode Island Red - 2 Dominiques