I bought a broody mama and she has 7 eggs!

Pics

Hannahnic14

Crowing
Apr 29, 2021
Middle Tennessee
So i just purchased a blue silkie hen and her previous owner said she was SUPER broody and offered to sent her eggs with her.

She has 7 eggs and I have no idea how far on they are. I candled 3 of them and took pictures. I know they aren't the best pictures but I seen veins and babies in them! How far along are these babies??
20211030_110228.jpg
20211030_110213.jpg
20211030_110155.jpg

Cool!
Please keep us updated! :pop:wee

(I'm not an expert, but here's my guess:))
I think the eggs look no younger than a week. Maybe a week and a half?
Try asking the previous owner when they put the eggs under her. That's how you'll know for sure (if they remember, of course).

Good luck ❤️ Hatching is always SO EXCITING!

Cool!
Please keep us updated! :pop:wee

(I'm not an expert, but here's my guess:))
I think the eggs look no younger than a week. Maybe a week and a half?
Try asking the previous owner when they put the eggs under her. That's how you'll know for sure (if they remember, of course).

Good luck ❤️ Hatching is always SO EXCITING!
I tried asking her and she said she had no idea🤷‍ I'm so excited though! All my other silkies are still too young to go broody so this is my first experience!

I have her (Pepper) in a dog crate in my house with food and water for now. We are getting a new little coop fixed up for breeding groups and she'll go in there at some point. I just didn't want to move her around a whole lot.

I have her (Pepper) in a dog crate in my house with food and water for now. We are getting a new little coop fixed up for breeding groups and she'll go in there at some point. I just didn't want to move her around a whole lot.
Some hens get upset if you move them while they are sitting on eggs (they want to go back to the previous nest).