I cracked open an alive egg!!!

Jazmelina

In the Brooder
Mar 9, 2022
This is my first time incubating…i had some eggs from my flock that I wanted to hatch out, and all of them looked great so far!! About 8 eggs. I candled them on day 5 and two of them looked like they had that blood ring around it and we’re just shadows without veins, but like I said earlier… I’m very new at this and I just assumed they were bad so I took them out, I was scared to have spoiled eggs in there since I’ve read some stories about them exploding in incubators. But anyways, I took them out in a baggy and cracked them open to see what was inside and one for sure was dead since it was just runny yolk and no blood or anything like that. But when I cracked open the other one, it had blood and veins and there was a developing chick inside!! I felt so bad that I just instantly threw it away into the garbage and I couldn’t even bring myself to look at it.
I didn’t see it move or anything like that, but I’m pretty sure it was alive since it had veins. I’m just so disappointed I didn’t see them move in the candler. It literally just looked like a shadow without veins and a ring but i don’t know anymore.
Maybe my candler isn’t bright enough? Im not too sure, I just needed a place to type this out.
Thanks for reading.

We have all made our mistakes when first starting out. I have found that a smaller LED flashlight works the best for candling. As for the ring, new hatchers can confuse the growing Chorion for a blood ring. For the movement, I do not base anything off of movement. Get a good LED flashlight so you can see the veins accurately. Developing embryos do not move constantly. Depending on the egg shell thickness and color it can make it even more difficult to see any movement.

Picture below of Chorion for example (Google image, not mine):
30029134-47AD-44E5-B452-6754CE317F7C.jpeg