I got my Turkeys today!

Kelsey2017

Songster
8 Years
Jan 30, 2011
Two Harbors, MN
I just picked up my Bourbon Red Tom and two mixed breed hens. One hen is rather dark with barred wings and iridescent feathers on her tail and back and the other is mostly dark with red patches on her wings and body. I am hoping that some of the poults will turn out more like the Bourbon Red. The hens came from moms that hatched their own eggs and may even be daughters of the tom I got or possibly the other BR tom the fellow had. I think the chances are pretty good that they could turn out some reds, but I would cherish a website on turkey genetics if anyone has a link. This is my first time to owning turkeys and I already like them bunches. I was going to wait to order some poults but I found these guys on craigslist and I needed the instant gratification factor. I can't wait for the hens to lay the first eggs. They are really sweet birds! I am very impressed by their dispositions, they came from a fairly large flock and have not been handled much but I can walk right up to my tom and pick him up no problem. I want them to raise their own chicks and was wondering if the timing was right could I sneak the hatchery poults I am going to order under them if they have been setting long enough? Maybe that is cheating but I thought it would be easier than fussing with the poults and then trying to integrate them into the flock later. Any advice out there?