Incubators, chicks, peeping! TOO MUCH!

Djmiller012

In the Brooder
12 Years
Mar 31, 2007
Tabor, IA
Okay...I am kind of new to the whole chicken thing and here are some questions for yall,

--How much do incubators cost?

--Where can I find one?

--How long does it take to hatch eggs?

--Where can I purchase eggs?

--If a chick doesn't come out of its shell, how do you help it?

--Can a chick walk after its out of its shell?

--Can it eat, drink, etc.?

--What do you do if a chick dies?

--How do you know if the egg is fertilized?

--How can you see the chick in the egg?

--How many times should you turn it?

--What degree should it be?

--Can I make my own incubator?

Sorry, kind of a lot of questions, hope yall dont mind...answers would be appreciated! Thanks!
jumpy.gif
jumpy.gif
jumpy.gif
jumpy.gif
jumpy.gif
jumpy.gif
jumpy.gif

--How much do incubators cost?
The cheapest one you can find that has the capacity to hatch more than a dozen eggs is probably around 50 dollars, maybe a little cheaper.

--Where can I find one?
Check your local feed store, also poultry supply catalogs, google strombergs, nasco farm and ranch and murray mcmurray hatchery

--How long does it take to hatch eggs?
Chickens take 21 days to hatch

--Where can I purchase eggs?
You can find breeders right here on the form who will ship hatching eggs to you and you can also buy them form the hatcheries listed above.

--If a chick doesn't come out of its shell, how do you help it?
You don't, helping a chick out almost always results in death. Chicks can take up to two days to come out of their shells and usually make it out fine on their own.

--Can a chick walk after its out of its shell?
Chicks usually take a rest right after hatching but after a hort period are up running around.

--Can it eat, drink, etc.?