Infected injury or tumor or abscess...??

BrutalNoodle22

Hatching
Oct 27, 2023
Hi! I've been a long time reader on here, but this is my first time posting.

My 3 year old cuckoo maran has a large mass on her neck, with some scabbing and discoloration.

Does anyone know what this might be, and/or how I might be able to help her??

Is it just a bad wound infection, or some kind of tumor, or even mites... something else perhaps??

She was moved inside yesterday and is confined to a crate now. I am now giving her 125mg of amoxicillin twice a day (potentially expired), and I am slathering the entire mass and scabs in Neosporin twice a day.
I also gave her one dose of pour-on ivermectin in case there are mites causing this.

She's eating and drinking normal. Her poop is definitely runny but I don't see worms or anything.

I did see a massive hawk stalking her one day a few weeks ago that I chased away, but I wonder if he tried to grab her when i wasn't looking and injured her...idk!

Thank you all in advance for any guidance you may have!!

Here is some background information, using a super handy questionnaire I found elsewhere on this forum (thanks!):

1) What type of bird , age and weight (does the chicken seem or feel lighter or thinner than the others.)
Peggy is a 3 yr old cuckoo maran and weighs maybe 2-3 pounds. Thinner than her 2 sisters.

2) What is the behavior, exactly.
Large discolored mass on her neck and scabbing. Skinnier than normal, but otherwise eating and drinking normal, runny poop though.

3) How long has the bird been exhibiting symptoms?
Noticed a smallish mass ~2 weeks ago. A week later it was bigger and more discolored and she had lost some weight.

4) Are other birds exhibiting the same symptoms?
No

5) Is there any bleeding, injury, broken bones or other sign of trauma.
Yes, some hard scabs and maybe bruising? And lots of swelling. A tiny bit of fresh blood this morning I think from her scratching at it a little.