Is this fowl pox?

jescee77

Hatching
7 Years
Jul 18, 2012
Just noticed this in my chickens today. They do not appear to be acting sick but have these lesion-like bumps all over them. It looks like pictures of fowl pox to me but I am fairly new to raising chickens...so I am not sure? I live in SC and it has been very hot and we do have a large mosquito problem. If it is fowl pox....what do I need to do? Will this kill them?

I realized that I wrote on this thread a year ago when my chickens came down with dry pox. Actually, I think a couple of them had wet pox. We live in the Houston area and have lots of creeks and trees around us, so do we EVER have mosquitoes!!!!

Here's what I've done:

I put a fan in the the coop. This helps keeps the girls cool at night, as well doing quite a decent job of blowing the mosquitoes away.

If pox occurs around the nostrils, I drip VetRx up the nostrils. This also helps if they get pox internally in the throat.

I use a spray of diluted tea tree oil on them. Mosquitoes don't like the scent.

WOW! That is a full blown case for sure. I think it is pox. Poor things. Dry pox you really don't have to do anything...and this looks like that. Some put antibiotic cream or iodine on the spots but I just leave them be. This version here is the least bothersome for them it seems. My oldest had it like this last year and they never seemed to be bothered. This year my new ones had it on their beaks and faces and they looked like big knots and it took a month or more to go away. There were two that had cracks in their beaks after the knots fell off. My mom's hen looks like an alien. Her whole head has warty looking bumps ALL over it and it made her unbalanced and she would stagger. I don't know if it was from the swellings or if it was in her ears too. All of ours was the dry version luckily. Good luck with them.