It's day 23 & no signs of eggs hatching.

Pics

woolyfirefly

In the Brooder
9 Years
Jan 7, 2011
One pipped on day 18, but never got any further. when I opened the egg the chick was fully developed, but died. It's day 23 now & not a peep out of the rest. Can anyone tell me if there is still hope for the other 9 eggs? This is our first time incubating eggs.

Quote:
don't lose hope! you said 6 are dark... is the clear spot the air cell? Because that juust means they haven't pipped yet! The last time I candled my eggs, one of them was so big that I couldn't see movement, and now it's shaking in the incubator! Good luck. this is my first time, too
smile.png
fl.gif

Just wanted to say thanks to everyone for all the great advice and support. Unfortunatly none hatched
hit.gif
, but we will try again. Just not right now (my nerves can't handle it). I plan to get all the kinks worked out of my bator completely before we try again.

For now, we just got home with 5 new silkies. Just under a week old. They are so cute. We all are already smitten.
love.gif

Thanks again for all the help!

Don't give up hope.. If you want, you can go into the bathroom with the incubator and get it really steamy in there so you don't lose any humidity when you open the bator.. You can then candle them and see if they are still viable... There have been plenty of people that have gone almost a week after the hatch due date.. There was one in the last few days that the chick hatched on day 27! If you had low temps at any point in the incubation, it can slow the hatch down....

Goddess
jumpy.gif

I have had the same problem recently- fill a deep bowl with warm water and place the egg in the water (only if not pipped) If it moves- It is still alive.-WORKS GREAT!!!