I've been had... What breed/sex does everyone think?

upmycreek

In the Brooder
8 Years
Apr 7, 2011
Hello,

i am new to live chicken ownership and know basically nothing about breeds and so on. With that in mind, this question might be completely obvious, but I am wondering if my chickens are hens or roosters and what breed they are. I only have 6 and I know one is definitely a rooster, as it crowed this morning, but now I am not certain about my other 5.

I was sold
Ginny

the newly discovered rooster (now known as Lola) sold to me as a really great "laying hen" and was told "she" was about a year old and would lay an egg every other day, LOL. I obviously was duped and this person was just trying to unload their rooster.

Ginny aka Lola- (supposedly a year old and laying... had her/him for a month now and hasn't produced anything except a couple of crows this morning)

85667_imag1048.jpg

85667_ginny.jpg

85667_ginny9.jpg

85667_ginny11.jpg

is he an obvious rooster? Also does anyone know if he will breed the other chickens? I kinda want to keep him. I just don't want to crack open a baby chick into my frying pan
smile.png

OK these are the other 5 that I am uncertain of...

Lil' Bit- Lil' Bit was also said to be currently laying and was 1 year old (she has not laid anything in the month that I have had her)

85667_lilbit3.jpg

85667_lilbit.jpg

85667_lilbit2.jpg

Buffalo Wings- supposedly 5 months old

85667_imag1070.jpg

85667_imag1063.jpg

Black Mutha Clucka- supposedly 5 months old

85667_imag1066.jpg

85667_imag1068.jpg

BMC is on the left and the rooster, Lola, is on the right

The Golden Egg Layer- supposedly 5 months old

85667_imag1062.jpg

85667_thegoldenegglayer.jpg

Extra Crispy- supposedly 5 months old

85667_imag1067.jpg

85667_imag1074.jpg