My new babies are dying!! : (

melaniekemp

Chirping
Mar 11, 2016
Huntersville, NC
Omg. This is my first time raising chickens. And so subsequently my first experience with mail order chicks. Ugh. USPS lost my package for an extra day. When the chicks finally arrived two were doa. A third was about to die it was in throes of convulsions and body all cold and stiff. At this point (chicks came in at 7:30 am today and now it is 8:30pm tonight), I have what appear to be 10 healthy looking chickies in the brooder and sadly three very sick babies here next to me. I've been hydrating them every 20-30 minutes all day. I've been "wearing" them against my skin by turning my hoodie around backwards and inverting the hood so it's like a warm nest on my chest. I've moved up in hydration to sugar water with mashed chick crumbles and sliced garlic (for immune system).
They were pitiful initially. Jerking their heads and necks rythmically and mouths gaping falling over sideways. Now the three are peeping occasionally, sitting up in little puffs together and drinking from a dropper. But still not one of the three will stand or open its eyes. If left alone, each chick trembles and sways. I am so worried I have not done something I should have done and they might die! Can anyone help these babies?! I am so new at this it's ridiculous. Poor little sweeties. : (

Am I supposed to post photos? Hmm. Let me see. I have a not great one of the brooder. Also a quick snap of my sickie chickies. : (

I'm sorry they arrived in such rough shape. I would, however, swap out the garlic for a little yogurt to build their good gut bacteria.

You can go to any farm store and get "Save-A-Chick" electrolytes and probiotics. See who pulls through and then contact the hatchery and the post office. You should be able to get replacement chicks or a refund.