Need Help determining gender of Easter Egger!

ChurchGirl

Chirping
Jun 24, 2023
Lake City Florida
We just got this Easter Egger but we don't know if it is a Hen or Cockerel. The tail feathers are starting to curl but it doesn't have a big comb or waddle. All of our other roos that are the same age have pretty big combs and waddles, I don't know if it is just different with Easter Eggers. Some advice would be great. 🙂

PXL_20230915_172704291.jpg
PXL_20230915_172817610.jpg
PXL_20230915_172734037.jpg
PXL_20230915_172739671.jpg
PXL_20230915_172802992.jpg
PXL_20230915_172727387.jpg

Pea combs aren’t going to get large like a single comb would, so it’s a bit harder to tell gender based on that. Also, bearded birds have much smaller wattles that are usually a bit hidden.

What seems to be telling on male EEs I’ve seen here is rust colored patches on the wings. Usually they’re a bit splotchy though, so I’m unsure about yours as it seems to be part of the patterning. I’m no EE expert, so I’d trust others’ opinions over mine. Curious to see what they turn out to be though!

How old is your bird, do you know?

Pea combs aren’t going to get large like a single comb would, so it’s a bit harder to tell gender based on that. Also, bearded birds have much smaller wattles that are usually a bit hidden.

What seems to be telling on male EEs I’ve seen here is rust colored patches on the wings. Usually they’re a bit splotchy though, so I’m unsure about yours as it seems to be part of the patterning. I’m no EE expert, so I’d trust others’ opinions over mine. Curious to see what they turn out to be though!

How old is your bird, do you know?
No, the EE was given to us so we don't know how old it is.

That is a cockerel. The red patches are a male only color trait.