Noob here - can I run my plan by you?

HeyKZ

In the Brooder
Apr 14, 2021
Can someone tell me if my plan sounds good or if I am failing to consider something that experienced chicken owners know...?

I live in a city neighborhood and want to do as much as I can to minimize noise to bother my neighbors. I am planning to get 4 chickens - 2 Austalorps and 2 Buff Orpingtons, as I have heard these are quieter hens and good for beginners. I plan to build a coop that is 5'x5' with an attached run. The total square feet will be 40, as the hens will be able to have space under the coop as well as an additional 5 feet. I also plan to buy the Omlet automatic door so I don't have to wake up super early and let the chickens out. If I let the chickens out with the automatic door every morning into the attached run will that help minimize loud noise in the morning for them being excited to get out of the coop? I would like to be able to free range the chickens sometimes, but I don't think I can do it everyday. I know they are creatures of routine, so is free ranging okay sometimes but not all the time?

Welcome to BYC.

Good job thinking about this stuff in advance and congratulations on thinking to give your chickens plenty of space. The only issue I see with your plans is that 5x5 is an awkward build because lumber comes in multiples of 4 feet so you'd have a lot of waste. Can you go to 6x6 so that you could buy 12-foot boards and cut them in half? or 4x8 to maximize the use of 8-foot boards?

Where, in general, are you located? Climate matters and we can give better advice if we know what kind of weather you're likely to experience. :)

Sounds good except that chickens do talk. Silent, no. Cute, definitely yes. If you build a truly safe run, the birds can let themselves in an out as they please. Also, they will hate snow, so having a roofed run is really nice.
They are certainly less annoying than any barking dog!