one of my babies has curved neck

Rooster'swife

In the Brooder
8 Years
Mar 20, 2011
My biddies have been hatching since Monday, the day after they were due but last night I had the sweetest little black bantam chick hatch out so adorable and when I got up this morning to check on him he keeps falling over and can't hold his head up. Can someone tell me what may have caused that. Maybe in the egg to long? This is my first time using bator so learning but I don't want to create something that suffers so I am trying to learn all I can before I do my next setting. Two more hatched this morning and one seems kind of weak but the other doing ok.

You might try a search on wry neck or Marek's and see what you think. Or read some of the info in the stickies at the top of the Raising Baby Chicks forum.

we have one with a bent neck too= the guy we got him from said he was in the egg too long and assumed that the chick wouldn't make it... after a week the chick was still hanging in there. My daughter took pity of it and brought the chick home. He seems to be doing ok, he stays with the other chicks and eats and drinks ok. He just looks so odd, and it looks painful when he walks around. I don't know what will happen to him, but he seems to have a will to live!

We had one the first time I order chicks. I unwisely chose a place that was inexperienced doing mail-order live chicks and a few had problems. This little guy's head was essentially upside-down.

I wanted to put it out, but amid the clamor from my step-daughters I relented.

I wish I'd killed it. We had to make special accommodations (lower feeder, lower water, etc.), which ended up making the food and water dirtier and poop-filled for ALL the chickens. He never grew full-sized, and ended up dying anyway within two years.

If you keep chickens for pragmatic reasons at all, then keeping a crippled chicken is foolishness.